Reviews‎ > ‎

Books


Splintered Book Series

posted Oct 16, 2015, 3:52 PM by Tallia W

                                                                    



Ever had a book on your reading list that was recommended by a friend? You know that book that has been on your to read list for months on Goodreads. But you have been avoiding reading it. I had an entire series recommend by a friend that I never had any interest of reading. Why? The cover art from the series was rather odd to me. Last month I had finished another book series. Then I got to that problem that we all dread. What the heck do I read next? Looked through my to read list and started reading reviews from other users. Finally, I decided to read the Splintered series. If you are a big fan of Alice in Wonderland book series, then you must add this to your reading list. Author A.G. Howard is a genius. Big suggestion is to buy all of the books at once, seriously just do it. FYI, the last book doesn't come out til December.
    
The first book in the series I got the kindle version of it. I honestly have to say I was hooked on this book after I read the first three chapters. The main character Alyssa Gardner is not your ordinary teenager. She has a view special things about her, that make her unique in ways she never knew. Even though the world around her had had it's up and downs. Things seem to change wants she reaches at certain age. Her character learns that a story that she loved as a child. Is far darker then the original story leads on. Thanks to some events, that happened in her families past. Alyssa learned that she is far more important then she comes to realize. All these things start to change into something that will take her down a path. One that she will have to decide on things that effect not only her family. But other important people in her life. One of them being the her best friends brother. And the other being someone that she fondly remembers from her childhood.
   
One character in this book reminds me a lot of Jareth from Labyrinth. Good looking with all the charms, but has a side of him. That you often wonder what he really has planned for you. He tends to do things that you think are helpful. But later you find out that he does things, for his own advantage.  Yes, there will be times when you are reading this series. When you will be shaking your head and rolling your eyes. But like he says he really means well. Yet what he does, is for the best of the main character.  I ended up liking at the end of the first book. 
    
When you read the books you will understand the cover art. I'm not going to spoil it for you. But each cover represents something in the books. 

The series has 5 books in it:

Book# 1: Splintered

Book #1.5: Moth in the Mirror
( Mini-book)

Book #2: Unhinged

Book # 3: Ensnared

Book #4 Untamed
(Please note that this book isn't out til December 2015)






    















The Accursed Kings Series

posted Jun 15, 2015, 5:31 PM by Tallia W

Have you ever read book series that a friend recommended? The first two books, in the series are great. Then you buy the next book . While trying to get into the third book. You discover this isn't as great as you thought it was. Then you are in that horrible situation. Do I ditch this book? Or do I painfully continue to read this book and finish it? That's the problem I'm having right now. If you follow me on Goodreads you can see the progress that I have made in this book so far. 

I'm reading Book #3 -The Poisoned Crown in The Accursed Kings Series by Maurice Duron. The first few chapters were OK, but not great. This author is not keeping my attention with this book. It just seems like it takes him forever to get to the point. The disappointing thing I was really interested. In finding out what happens to a character that I like in the book. One that is hardly mentioned. So after I finish this book. I will not be reading the other books in this series. Just seems it has lots it appeal to me. Once that happens it's very hard for me to want to continue reading a series. Maybe other people will like to continue reading this. But it's not going to get a great review from me.

This book series is highly recommended by George RR Martin (Author of A Song of Ice and Fire: Game of Thrones). He is an amazing author that I highly respect. But this book series is nothing like Game of Thrones to me. Please research more about these book before you buy all of them. 

2015 Reading Challenge-Update

posted Jun 8, 2015, 3:43 PM by Tallia W


I've been trying to keep up with my reading challenge with Goodreads this year.  So far I have read 16 out of 40 books. Still plan on reading more books. The thing that has been causing a problem is finding books that will hold my interest. So I have been on YouTube watching videos that fellow book worms are recommending. Then slowly building up my reading list. 

There is the list of books that I have read so far on the 2015 Reading Challenge.

I just started The Accursed Kings (Les Rois Maudits) series, that a friend on twitter recommended, that I read. The first book The Iron King was pretty good, finished it in 2 weeks. Book #2 The Strangled Queen just got downloaded to my Kindle. I also purchased the book on audible to listen to while I'm driving. Hoping that the second book is as good as the first. I'm planning on doing a book review on the series in a future blog post. 

Accursed Kings Book Series 
  1. The Iron King
  2. The Strangled Queen
  3. The Poisoned Crown



Kindle vs. Nook

posted Jan 15, 2015, 4:52 PM by Tallia W   [ updated Apr 27, 2015, 7:20 PM ]


A lot of people that are serious book readers are now converting to using an e-reader. Don't blame them at all. I was one of those people that was constantly ordering books online. Then had to wait while they were being shipped to the house.  Not always a fun thing when there is a new release of a book. I love reading the new book as soon as it comes out.  There are many benefits to owning a e-reader, and there are also a few draw-backs. Hopefully this post and the wisdom of others will help you narrow down your choice of which best for you.

My loving husband saw how many books I owned. Then gave me a rather odd look and asked why I didn't have an e-reader. Guess I had never thought about it. Thus, he bought me a Nook 1st edition. At the time I was a Barnes and Noble member and was happy with their products. My Nook was wonderful. It was nice having so many books all in one place. Best part is the device is portable. Then I realized that I couldn't read magazines on the Nook. Something we had originally asked the salesperson at the Barnes and Noble store. The Nook first edition was nice, but then it started having issues when the software updates. Customer service was contacted several times. The fix they told me was always the same, restart your device, and then do a factory reset.  It got to the point that I ended up using the original software that came with the device. Kind of a disappointment.  
  
  A year later I bought a Nook Color. This device was great for reading my books and magazines on it. But then I started having problems with the device. Luckily customer service was able to help with the issues the device had. No problems with the software updates. My only issue with the device is it seemed that I had to charge it more frequently. Nothing is more disappointing then wanting to read your book and discovering that the device is dead. So then you are stuck waiting for it to charge. Maybe it's just me being a high end user. So I decided to stop using my 2nd Nook and put it in storage.  A short time later it was purchased by a close friend, for her son who loves to read. Kiddo seems to be happy with it, so it has a good home.
   
 I'm now a proud owner of a Kindle. The device has had no problems. It's perfect, I even have custom wallpapers on the device. Books I order digitally from Amazon sow up within seconds of me purchasing them. My kindle has tons of storage for lots and lots of books.

If you are still unsure about what device is for you.? May I suggest, that you read reviews on different websites. Customers will always tell you what they really think of the product. Compare the price of digital books between companies.  Granted e-readers have changed over the last several years. They seem to be improving with each year. Please note that Amazon and Barnes and Noble are not the only companies that make e-readers. Several companies have their own version. Simply narrow it down to price, selection, specifications, and preference.


Good Reads 2015 Read Challenge

posted Jan 6, 2015, 5:44 PM by Tallia W   [ updated Apr 27, 2015, 7:22 PM ]

For the last two years I have participated in the Good Reads Reading Challenge. Each year I have set my reading goals. Of how many books I would like to read before the end of the year. This year, I have choose to read 40 books.  If you would like to see my reading progress feel free to add me as a friend on Good Reads. I update my reading progress every time I get a chance to read. There will be some days that you won't see updates ( life happens).


If you don't have a Good Reads account, I strongly suggest that you sign up for one. It has been really helpful with tacking the books that I have read, to read. Also the books that have been suggested by friends, family and book club members. There also is a lot of great reviews on books. Really comes in handy, when I'm thinking about reading a book.

Happy Reading 


Contintuing stories after Pride & Prejudice

posted Dec 10, 2014, 9:42 PM by Tallia W   [ updated Apr 27, 2015, 7:22 PM ]

Since I'm a member of GoodReads.com. I'm always looking for good recommendations on books to read. I came across a recommendation for The Dracy's of Pemberley. The book was part of a short two book series of the continuing stories of the characters from Pride & Prejudice. I added the two books to my To Read List and started reading the first book The Dracy's of Pemberley. I tend to use Audible a lot when I'm busy, it comes in handy. I like reading the book and listening to it at the same time. That may seem odd to people, but I've been reading some books that way for years.

The Dracy's of Pemberley series author Shannon Winslow did a great job. I liked the book.She kept the character personalities the same way that it was in the original book. Although it is nice to see Elizabeth, and Mr. Dracy happily married and still very much in love with each other. Many of the other characters in the book were present and still had their charming personalities. Well, expect Mrs. Bennett. She still is scheming, gossiping, and attempting to get her other daughters married off. Don't really think that the women will ever change. Don't even get me started on Lydia. You want to know more about the trouble maker read the book.


Book # 1: The Dracy's of Pemberley

I read this book in a week it was so good.That every time I had a spare minute, I was reading the book. As you can tell by the title it focuses on Mr. Darcy, his wife Elizabeth,Darcy's younger sister Georgiana, and Colonel Fitzwilliam. It was been a year since the couple has been married and they are enjoying their life at the beautiful estate Pemberley. The couple is very much in love and hopefully will be making future additions to their family. Being Dracy's wife, Elizabeth has a responsibility of providing an ire, to uphold the family name. 

Young Georgiana is becoming a accomplished young lady. She is going to be coming of age and soon will be introduced in public. She is still a sweet loving young sister that is much adored by her brother. Although she starts to develop serious feelings for someone, whom she deeply cares about. Doing so she almost makes a little bit of trouble.

Colonel Fitzwilliam is mentioned a lot more in this book.He was a good character, and has great gentlemen manners. Things seem to be going very well for him in the book until his aunt Lady Catherine de Bourgh. Assumes that she can take over his life and makes plans for him.(Read the book, I'm not going to spoil it for you.

Many of the other beloved characters are mentioned in the book. Jane her her husband Mr. Bingley are still the cutest couple. Jane being the oldest sister still has the sweetest disposition. Her husband is loving towards his wife and showers her with love and affection. They have many changes in their life and intend on starting a new venture.



Book # 2:  
Return to Longborn 

Yes at the end of first book you were curious to see what has happened with the other family members still living at Longborn. As Mrs. Bennett says, what is to become of us. This book fills in a lot of the missing information not mentioned in the book # 1. There is a gentlemen Mr. Tristian Collins that is introduced. Yes, you can already guess. Mrs. Bennett in her wisdom wants one of her daughters to marry him. But which daughter is to marry the young gentlemen who is to be the new owner of Longborn. Mary or Kitty.

I do have to warn you the beginning of this book does have a little bit of heart break. So bust out a box of Kleenex.

Mary Bennet the was the sister that was always thought to be the odd one of the bunch. In this book we find more out her. She is a governess to a wealthy man with children. But being a governess has it's good points and bad points. None the less she enjoys spending with the children. While doing her duties a situation comes up and causes Mary to flee the beautiful the estate. 

Kitty on the other hand is still young and boy crazy as ever. Much like her sister Lydia, she enjoys attending parities at her old sisters homes.That is until her mother instructs her that she needs to marry a young man. A marriage they will benefit the family.


The second book was better than the first. I really enjoyed reading about the younger sisters. Everyone in the family ends up having a happy ending.


As You Wish: : Inconceivable Tales from the Making of The Princess Bride

posted Nov 14, 2014, 4:33 PM by Tallia W   [ updated Apr 27, 2015, 7:23 PM ]

Source: Purchased it from Amazon.com, E-Book Kindle and Audible.com
              

When I attended Phoenix Comic Con this year actor Cary Elwes was in attendance. When he was doing the meet and greet with the fans he said that he had been working on a book As You Wish. For those of us that knows where the title of the book comes from Princess Bride. His character Westly uses it, best line in the movie. The book is a behind the scenes look from the actors in the movie.

I'm a big Cary Elwes fan, so of course I wanted to support him. I pre-ordered the Kindle edition of the book on Amazon. ( Come on how many of love to read books the day that it comes out, I know I do.) One of my friends mentioned that the book was on Audible.com and that the actors in the movie tell their stories. Who wouldn't love to hear Cary Elwes reading the book, honestly? He has a nice voice, and the book sounded a lot better with him reading it. 

As You Wish: Inconceivable Tales from the Making of The Princess Bride is the perfect book for fans of the movie. There were a lot of parts in this book that had me laughing so cried. It also makes me appericate the movie a lot more. Knowing all of the hard work and dedication that went into the making of the movie.

When the actors are taking about Andre' the Giant  made me love the gentle giant with a big heart even more. He had such a loving and caring spirit about him. According to the actors in the movie he had a great sense of humor.

If you are looking for a good read to add to your reading list. Please add this book, you will love reading or listening to every minute of this book.


The Kings Curse

posted Sep 16, 2014, 9:42 PM by Tallia Wells   [ updated Apr 27, 2015, 7:24 PM by Tallia W ]

Source: Purchased it from Amazon.com, E-Book Kindle

Book Series: The Cousins War

The Kings Curse by Phillipa Gregory is the last book for her series the Cousins War. Please note that the book was originally going to be called The Last Rose. But was changed. Personally I think the name chosen for the book fits much better.  The title itself will grab a lot of readers attention.

This book focuses on a Tudor  cousin to the king , Margaret Pole. Her story of what was happening in the royal court in 1499. She is an interesting character. Yep, I'll just leave it at that. If you want to know then you will need to read the book. I started reading this book the day it was released in the US, on my kindle. Now that I have finished the book. I can honestly say this book was my least favorite in the series. Not that the author changed her writing style or anything. Just really wasn't a big fan of this book.  But it did tie in a lot of loose ends that I was curious about in The White Princess.

But if you are reading the series. I would encourage you read all of the books. Nothing worse then never finding out the endings. There are the books that you need to read in order:
The Lady of the Rivers
The White Queen
Th Red Queen
The Kingmakers Daughter
The White Princess
The Kings Curse (The Last Rose)







Tales of the Siren: A Starbucks Melody

posted Sep 16, 2014, 9:33 PM by Tallia Wells   [ updated Apr 27, 2015, 7:24 PM by Tallia W ]

My manager at my local Starbucks location here in Arizona recommended I follow a fellow blogger online. The blog is called Starbucks Melody. She talks about her different experiences that she had with Starbucks. Like many of us, has a great love for coffee. I noticed one day that she said she had written a book. I'm a full believer that bloggers should suppose each other. So I decided to buy her book on Amazon. Then I started reading it on my tablet.Melody is a talented blogger,she  always has great post on her blog.  I'm going to be recommending the book not only to my blog followers. But also to my Starbucks addicted friends. This is a great read for those of us who like the Starbucks culture.
 
Reading about her  experiences with her trying the new  items, Starbucks has to offer. Really enjoyed reading about her different encounters with C.E.O  Howard Schultz. One very important thing I learned from that is that you should call him by his first name and not shorten it.

If you are interested in reading her book. It can be purchased on Amazon.com (Kindle users) or Barnes & Noble.com (Nook users).


Kiya Trilogy

posted Aug 24, 2014, 7:42 PM by Tallia Wells   [ updated Apr 27, 2015, 7:21 PM by Tallia W ]

Source: Purchased the books form Amazon, Kindle edition.

Series: KIYA

There is a book trilogy that you book lovers must read. Thanks to Amazon, the first book was on my Amazon Unlimited preferred reading suggestion. At the time I was reading a lot of historical fiction.  It looked like a great book so I downloaded it to my kindle. After finishing the first book within two days. I was dying to read the next book #2. Like the first two books I was blow away by the story and wanted to see what happened to the character. Yes, I bought book #3 downloaded it and started reading it. As soon as it had finished downloaded. I just finished reading the last book today. Author Katie Hamstead wrote this amazing series. This is one of those book series that I couldn't put down. Please consider adding this to your reading list and Goodreads list.

Here is a little background of the series. A young women is taken away from her family to become one of the wives of Pharaoh. A commander sees what strength she has and is inspired. She wins the heart of the Pharaoh. But this all comes at a price. She is then changed according to Egyptian customs and made Queen Kiya.  But being queen is not an easy task.  As queen she must provide an  heir to continue the royal line. But doing so she must also protect herself from the dangers of living in the palace. 

There are 3 books in this series:
   1. Kiya: Hope of the Pharaoh ( If you are an Kindle Unlimited member, this book is free.)
   2. Kiya: Mother of a King 
   3. Kiya: Rise of a New Dynasty


The author Katie Hamstead can be followed on her social media:







  

1-10 of 10